Arkenstall Village Centre Minutes of the Annual General Meeting Tuesday 9th May 2023

Trustees in attendance: Paul Hiorns ; Suzy Barker (SBr); Lisa Constanti (LC); Robert Bush (RB); Sheila Waller (SW); Gareth Wilson

Also present: Lyndsey Goddard, Jim Collins, John Shippey, Chris Ray (Chairman of the Parish Council)

In the chair: Paul Hiorns

Minutes taken by Sheila Waller

The chairman welcomed everyone to the meeting.

1.	Apologies for absence	
	Stuart Browse and Liz Dolman. Also absent: Dee Ireland	
2.	Approval of Minutes of the last Annual General Meeting held on <u>17th May 2022</u> Gareth Wilson and Sheila Waller attended the 2022 AGM and attested to the accuracy of the Minutes, as did John Shippey. The Minutes were approved (proposed by Gareth Wilson and seconded by Sheila Waller) and signed as a correct record. No matters arising.	
3.	Trustees Annual Report	
	The chairman started by thanking John Shippey for 40 years' service to the AVC and proceeded to read out excerpts from the Annual Report, copies of which were handed out to guest attendees: The AVC had been through a difficult period at the start of the year with the resignation of a significant number of trustees and a consultation with ACRE regarding the future of the centre. In October five new trustees were welcomed; our hire policy, charging structure and room rates were updated to make the AVC more adaptable and attractive to hirers; we consulted with regular users to ensure they understood the changes and were happy. As a result, regular hirers remain loyal and there has been an increase in the number of one-off bookings. The new hire charges are based on 30% usage to achieve full cost recovery and rising energy costs. Current usage stands at around 20% and efforts to attract new users are underway, with increased use of AVC Facebook Page and regular features in the Village Voice. Plan drawn up for monthly fund-raising activities to end of the calendar year. Our long serving caretaker has resigned and will be leaving on 31 st July. We are advertising to find a replacement. Moving forward a business plan has been written, and our policies and procedures updated. The building we occupy is aging and as part of our improvement plan we intend to carry out an energy audit and source available funds to cover major works.	

4.	Treasurer's report and adoption of annual accounts	
	The year-end loss was not as bad as it might have been. John Shippey noted the high electricity cost but added that the oil cost was reasonable. He also said it was pleasing to see some increase in hiring. John enquired about future plans for the flat and it was explained that, if occupied by the new caretaker, this would be by separate negotiation and not form part of any work contract. Ely Design Group will be coming to look at the flat and other parts of the building to explore what changes of use and adaptations might be possible. Jim Collins asked about the donations received during the year and the treasurer explained that Anglian Water had made two donations each of £3,000 for use of the AVC carpark during water outages in the village. Having already been circulated and approved at the April Management	
	Committee Meeting, the annual accounts were adopted and signed by the treasurer.	
5.	Appointment of independent examiner for the accounts	
	Treasurer will ask Andrew Lant to be the independent examiner for the annual accounts again this year and this was approved by everyone.	
6.	Any Other Business	
	None.	
7.	Election of charity trustees – 8 elected and 3 representative	
	Current trustees all resigned.	
	Representative	
	From the three groups listed in the constitution: Lyndsey Goddard was nominated to represent HAmDraMs; Gareth Wilson was nominated to represent the Parish Council. No representative was nominated by Holy Trinity Church. Lyndsey was welcomed as a new trustee and Gareth was welcomed to serve for another year.	
	Elected	
	Paul Hiorns and Dee Ireland did not wish to stand again for re-election.	
	Stuart Browse, Suzy Barker, Robert Bush, Lisa Constanti, Liz Dolman and Sheila Waller were re-elected, proposed by John Shippey, seconded by Paul Hiorns and approved by all present.	
	At this point Jim Collins from the floor put himself forward as a new trustee. Resident of Haddenham for 17 years he brings financial skills and is willing to act as treasurer. Lisa Constanti proposed Jim Collins for election, seconded by Suzy Barker and approved by all. Jim was welcomed to the Committee.	
	Appointment of roles	
	Chair – Stuart Browse was proposed by Sheila Waller, seconded by Suzy Barker and approved by all;	
	Vice-Chair – Lisa Constanti was proposed by Robert Bush, seconded by Suzy Barker and approved by all;	

	Treasurer – Gareth Wilson was proposed by Lisa Constanti, seconded by Robert Bush and approved by all. It was agreed that Jim Collins will assist Gareth, with a gradual handover of responsibilities;	
	Secretary – Sheila Waller was proposed by Gareth Wilson, seconded by Lisa Constanti and approved by all.	
	A vote of thanks to Paul Hiorns was recorded for chairing the meeting and for his service on the Committee. A vote of thanks to Dee Ireland was also recorded for her many years of service to the AVC.	
8.	Date and Time of Next Meeting	
	14 th May 2024 at 7.00pm	